IBAPartner Logo

HomeA Beginner’s Guide to AQFAustraliaA Beginner’s Guide to AQF

A Beginner’s Guide to AQF

Individuals with extensive hands-on experience and skillsets through voluntary and paid work may get their qualifications and transcripts through Qualifications Australia (QA) – a service provider of Immigration Business Alliance (IBA) – which assists individuals in attaining their internationally recognised qualification or certification solely based on their work experience. Qualifications Australia ensures that individuals obtain credentials and bridge their educational gap to influence future job prospects.

Qualifications Australia accredits educational qualifications that meet the Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) criteria. This article will delve into what the AQF is.

What is the AQF?

The Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) is the governing policy for regulated qualifications within the Australian education and training system. First introduced in 1995, the AQF was established to provide a foundational structure for the national qualifications system in Australia, covering higher education, vocational education and training (VET), and schools. It represents the collectively endorsed policy of Commonwealth, State, and Territory ministers, with administration overseen by the Department of Education.

What Are the Objectives of the AQF?

The main objective of the Australian Qualifications Framework is to facilitate the attainment of formal qualifications.

Some other objectives of the AQF include:

  • Enabling the alignment of the AQF with several international qualifications frameworks.
  • Providing a pathway for individuals to progress through training and education and receive recognition for their previous learning and experiences.
  • Contributes to the national economic performance.

To read more on the objectives of the Australian Qualifications Framework, check https://www.aqf.edu.au/about/what-aqf

What Qualifications Does AQF Provide?

The AQF provides the following types of qualifications:

  • AQF specification for the Senior Secondary Certificate of Education
  • AQF Level 1 – Certificate I
  • AQF Level 2 – Certificate II
  • AQF Level 3 – Certificate III
  • AQF Level 4 – Certificate IV
  • AQF Level 5 – Diploma
  • Level 6 Advanced Diploma, Associate Degree
  • AQF Level 7 – Bachelor Degree
  • Undergraduate Certificate
  • Level 8 – Bachelor Honours Degree, Graduate Certificate, Graduate Diploma
  • AQF Level 9 – Masters Degree
  • AQF Level 10 – Doctoral Degree

To understand each qualification type in-depth, check out https://www.aqf.edu.au/framework/aqf-qualifications

Qualifications Australia adheres to the standards of the AQF to award certifications and qualifications to individuals based on their prior work experience. This is a huge boon to professionals in the workplace who have the skillset and hands-on experience but no formal qualification to back them. To learn more about the Australian Qualifications Framework, visit https://www.aqf.edu.au/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *